The University of Southampton
About us


The University’s structure includes eight faculties, where our academic and research activities take place. They are supported by a number of professional services departments.

Academic departments

Students studying
Studying at Southampton

We have 31 academic units grouped into eight faculties. Based across seven campuses our academic units cover a wide range of subject areas. These allow us to offer courses globally, including at our EduCity@Iskandar campus in Malaysia.

Explore our faculties, academic units and research institutes.

Operational departments

Our Professional Services departments are responsible for the University’s non-academic functions. Working closely with the faculties and academic units, they support our staff, students, alumni and partners in all aspects of the University’s operations. As well as ensuring that we are efficiently run, they help the University to evolve, develop, and meet new challenges.

Services include planning and strategy, IT support, running the University’s libraries, managing our finances and liaising with the press and media.

Find out more about our Professional Services departments.


Contact our media team

Our media team provides a rapid response to enquiries and requests for expert commentary

We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. If you continue without changing your settings, we will assume that you are happy to receive cookies on the University of Southampton website.